Halifax Partnership Reports on 2023-24 Results, Welcomes New Board Chair & Elects New Board Members at Today's Annual General Meeting

Posted: June 20, 2024

HALIFAX, NS – June 20, 2024 – Halifax Partnership held its 2024 Annual General Meeting today at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront with over 150 Investors, business leaders and community members in attendance.

The Partnership shared results and achievements from 2023-2024 and announced its 2024-2025 Board of Directors. Throughout the past year, Halifax Partnership worked with its private, public, and post-secondary Investors and partners to support over 400 businesses and over 419 newcomers and post-secondary graduates in growing and succeeding in Halifax. The organization also celebrated progress on the African Nova Scotian Road to Economic Prosperity’s five-year, community-led strategy.

“I am often reminded that Halifax Partnership is more than just a name. It is truly a reflection of our daily and enduring commitment to working together on economic development. We work in collaboration with our more than 100 Investors and our strong network of local, national, and international partners,” says Wendy Luther, President and CEO, Halifax Partnership. “Last year was a year of growth and deep community connection as we faced the challenges that have come with Halifax’s success. Together, we settle for nothing less than a vibrant, successful, and inclusive Halifax that benefits all residents, businesses, and communities.”

The Annual General Meeting, led by Cory Bell, outgoing Chair of the Board, included the election of the 2024-2025 Board of Directors and acknowledged the contributions of the 2023-24 Emerging Leaders and Innovators Advisory Board. Halifax Partnership is governed by a 19-member Board of Directors representing a diverse cross section of Halifax business, government, and community leaders. At the meeting Donna Alteen, CEO, Time & Space Media was elected Board Chair and Patrick Fitzgerald, Partner, Cox & Palmer, was elected Board Vice Chair.

“It was only ten short years ago that the Ivany Report was released. I remember feeling both discouraged and determined to roll up my sleeves in any way possible to be part of the ambitious challenge – to build opportunities keeping our young people here, and to encourage others to come and businesses to locate their workforces here,” said Donna Alteen, Chair of the Halifax Partnership Board and CEO, Time + Space. “As we look ahead, I am filled with optimism and excitement about the future. Together, we will continue to build a city that not only attracts talent and businesses but also nurtures a community where everyone can thrive.”

The annual general meeting also included an engaging and forward-thinking Building Halifax panel discussion with private sector developers who are working to bring housing developments online. Moderated by Wendy Luther, President & CEO, Halifax Partnership, speakers included:

  • Cory Bell, President & CEO, Lindsay Construction
  • Jason Brunt, President, Clayton Developments Ltd.
  • Phil Fraser, President & CEO, Killam Apartment REIT

Members of the 2024-2025 Board of Directors:

  • Donna Alteen – Board Chair; CEO, Time & Space Media Ltd.
  • Patrick Fitzgerald – Board Vice Chair; Partner, Cox & Palmer
  • Dr. Alice Aiken – Vice President, Research & Innovation, Dalhousie University
  • Sarah Buckle – Partner, Deloitte
  • Carrie Cussons – President & CEO, Events East Group
  • Andrea Forbes-Hurley – Managing Partner, KBRS
  • Mike Johnston – Founder & CEO, REDspace
  • Ken MacLean – Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, The Municipal Group of Companies
  • Nicola Ray Smith – Senior Vice President, Atlantic Region, Scotiabank
  • Chris Ronald - Regional President, Atlantic Canada, RBC
  • Chris Smith, Executive President, Finance, Nova Scotia Power, Inc.
  • Anita Swamy – Senior Vice President, Operations, Medavie Blue Cross

Representing Halifax Regional Council:

  • Waye Mason – Councillor, District 7, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Cathy Deagle-Gammon – Councillor, District 1, Halifax Regional Municipality

Observers to the Board:

  • Mike Savage - Mayor, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Cathie O’Toole – Chief Administrative Officer, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Scott Farmer – Deputy Minister, NS Department of Economic Development
  • Chuck Maillet – Vice President, Nova Scotia, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Captain Andy MacKenzie - Base Commander, Maritime Forces Atlantic

Board member biographies and photos are available here.

View or download the Halifax Partnership’s 2023-24 Annual Report here.

Media Contact

Alison Gillan, APR

Vice President, Marketing, PR & Communications

Halifax Partnership


[email protected]



This website uses cookies
This website uses cookies to improve user experience and analyse website traffic. By using our website without adjusting your cookie settings you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.